Tiger Defensive End Named To Lott IMPACT Award Watch List

On Friday the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation named it’s 42 candidates for the 17th annual Lott IMPACT Trophy and Clemson defensive end Justin Foster is one of the players. This award, named after Pro Football Hall of Fame member Ronnie Lott, is given to college football’s Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. This award was founded in 2004.

It is awarded to the player who shows the same characteristics that the man it is named after embodied during his career. Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community, and Tenacity. This award’s voters include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, and a distinguished group of former college football head coaches.

Foster has been selected Academic All ACC and Honorable Mention All ACC in his career at Clemson . The senior has 41 tackles, and 17.5 tackles for loss in his career.

Other Tigers that have made this watch list were Christian Wilkins and Dexter Lawrence. Foster hopes to become the first Clemson player to earn this award.

The list of previous winners of this award are as follows:

2004 – David Pollack, Georgia
2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama
2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal
2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU
2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU
2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin
2011 – Luke Kuechly, Boston College
2012 – Manti Te’o, Notre Dame
2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA
2014 – Eric Kendricks, UCLA
2015 – Carl Nassib, Penn State
2016 – Jabrill Peppers, Michigan
2017 – Josey Jewell, Iowa
2018 – Josh Allen, Kentucky
2019 – Derrick Brown, Auburn

Leave a Reply